Understanding the Four Levels of Hospice Care

This article discusses the four main types of hospice care a patient can receive and the different disciplines that provide care. 

What is Hospice Care

According to the Mayo Clinic: “Hospice care is for people who are nearing the end of life. The services are provided by a team of healthcare professionals who maximize comfort for a terminally ill person by reducing pain and addressing physical, psychological, social, and spiritual needs. Hospice care also provides counseling, respite care, and practical support.”

Hospice care doesn’t focus on curing the illness but gives the patient comfort and care during the last stage of their life. 


4 Types of Hospice Care

Hospice Care at Home

A patient who receives hospice care at home has a caregiver come in and provide care based on the patient’s needs. At-home care offers patients the ability to feel comfortable in their own homes. 

Routine care may include pain management, symptom management, emotional and spiritual counseling for the patient and family, assistance with daily tasks, nutritional services, and therapeutic services. Routine hospice care can be provided wherever you call home; whether in a skilled nursing facility, assisted living facility, memory care, or your own home” 


Continuous Care 

Continuous care, also referred to as crisis care, occurs when a patient has a medical emergency or requires more intensive care. This type of care may require around-the-clock nursing or extended nursing support. 


Inpatient Care

A patient goes into inpatient care when their symptoms have become too hard to manage effectively in the home. The inpatient care team helps the patient achieve a level of symptom control to return home. There are also times when” some patients may choose to spend their final days in an inpatient center as a neutral, safe space to be with family and loved one” 


Respite Care


Respite care is offered for caregivers when they need a rest from around-the-clock nursing. It is a short-term break that allows caregivers a break to recuperate and avoid burnout. This break provides caregivers a chance to return to the patient and deliver quality patient care effectively and efficiently. 


Hospice Team


The hospice team can include:

  • Doctor
  • Nurses 
  • Social Workers
  • Pharmacists
  • Physical Therapist 
  • Occupational Therapist 
  • Speech Therapist
  • Hospice Aides
  • Volunteers 
  • Chaplins
  • And more 


Hospice isn’t a form of giving up; it’s a way for patients to receive the care they need in the final stages of their life. Patients and their loved ones can choose which hospice care type and hospice team-best suit their needs and comfort. While hospice doesn’t focus on curing the illness, it helps patients feel at ease from their condition and live their final days peacefully and with dignity. 


 Download our ebook to learn more about the Hospice Triangle of Care.

 To learn more about KanTime and our hospice care, check out our website or request a demo!